Taiwan Touch My Heart (2) ~ Taipei

Hey there!

In this post, I’d like to share the details of my travel itinerary in Taiwan from last year. In my previous post, I’ve shared Β the rough itinerary, budget and tips & tricks on transportation and food in general: read my previous post. Right now I want to give a more detailed explanation on the objects we visited in each city and I’m going to start with Taipei.

Places

  1. Hair salon : well, the very first thing I did when I arrived in Taipei was indeed going to salon to get a haircut and perm. There’s no salon in Jakarta that does it as good as they do it in Taiwan. Besides, the service costs very cheap compared to most salons in Jakarta’s shopping malls. You can just walk into any salon in one of the famous night markets like Shida or Gong Guan. They usually have quite similar quality of service and price. If you’re lucky, sometimes they have special promotions too on selected service. I got my hair cut and permed for only NT$ 2,000. The curls are still in pretty shape until now (since May last year!).

20160506_195910

2. Taipei Zoo : Β it’s a good place to visit with the family. Plus, the entrance fee is very cheap. I think it only costs around NT$ 30 for one person. The zoo is very well-maintained and has quite a lot of species including: koala, penguin and Chinese panda.

3. Chiang Kai Shek Memorial Hall : This is a complex of a few historical buildings. In one of the buildings, the Taiwanese tell their independence story through pictures, old clothing and car. Other buildings are used for musical or art performance, including international artist’s music concerts. The entrance is free of charge.

4. Yang Ming Shan National Park : this national park is located on the outskirts of Taipei in Shilin District. It’s a nice place to do light hiking and just enjoy the view of the mountain. As far as I recall, in the beginning of spring there’s a flower exhibition at one of the entrance. It’s very easy to go to Yang Ming Shan. Just go to Shilin night market or MRT first. Then you can find a few buses that go to Yang Ming Shan.

20160508_134459
Foggy mountain view
20160508_135050
Hiking trail

5. National Palace Museum: this one is also located in Shilin District. From Shilin Night Market, there are one or two buses going through the museum. There’s also a bus stop in front of the museum so you don’t have to walk too far to get into the palace. The palace is enormous and consists of loads and loads of artifacts from ancient China. It is told that the Chinese (mainland) people who took refuge to Taiwan brought them. If you take a guided tour or an audio-guide, you will hear many interesting stories about the Chinese history here. It costs NT$ 250 for general visitors and it’s worth every penny!

20160513_145028
National Palace Museum

Food!!!

As I’ve mentioned in my previous post, foods are very easy to find in every corner of the city and cheap! Most of them are delicious too πŸ˜€ This is one of the many things that make me happy when living in Taipei for 2 awesome years! Here are some food we enjoyed during our stay in Taipei:

  1. Taiwanese beef noodle:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m quite sure we visited one of the most famous beef noodle restaurants in Taipei. The restaurant was very crowded and we had to queue to be seated and only had a few minutes to finish our meals. There are quite a few noodle menus. I ordered the original one with spicy soup while my friend had the dry-style beef noodle (which looked like Korean Jajang Myun). Each menu cost around NT 120-150 with big chunks of meat on it! It was really good so I recommend you to try it too πŸ™‚

2. Luwei and Taiwanese crispy fried chicken

20160506_221252
Left: fried chicken; right: luwei

OK, the fried chicken actually has been one of my biggest guilty pleasure ever since I tried it in Taiwan! I always had it at least 1-2 a week when I lived there. It was soooo GOOOD!!! I was quite addicted to it! For me, the best fried chicken is the one sold at Shida Night Market. I think the name of the vendor was Shida Fried Chicken, it was run by an uncle and his wife. Fried chicken usually costs around NT$ 50-60. Luwei was also one of my favorite street food but I always had to share it with friends. It is a mix of vegetables with dumplings, pork meatballs, instant noodle and tofu skin. There are still other side dish to mix in Luwei, you get to pick your own mixture and let them dip all the mixture in that special soup and pour it with some ketchup. The cost of luwei varies depend on what you choose and how much you want it. Mine usually cost around NT$ 120 – NT$ 180.

3. Bento at the HSR train station

It is very famous because it’s delicious and easy to carry. I must say that actually most bentos in Taiwan are not bad if not delicious. But when you want to take Taipei HSR, it’s worth to try the bento and eat it while you wait for your train. I think it costs around NT$ 120-130 a box with choice of beef, chicken or pork.

20160508_173646
My bento box with pork
20160508_182341
Inside Taiwan HSR

 

20160508_181133
My friend and me on Taiwan HSR

There are actually still many kinds of good food and drinks around Taipei. Not to mention my all time favorite Ice Caramel Latte from City Cafe 7-11. It’s the BEST latte in Taiwan with the BEST price too! But I think trying lots of food in Taiwan is no guilty since most of them are good and cheap. So, try your luck and tell me what you think =)

Cheers,

Ariesa

 

Leave a Reply

